Friday the 13th: Scary Movies or Kitten Videos?

Ah, Friday the 13th. A day of superstitions. A day of bad luck. A day to blame all your woes on. And, of course, a day to watch scary movies.

I was going to do an entire blog post about all that surrounds this unluckiest of days, but isn’t every news network, blogger, FB page, and Twitter account already doing that?

Instead, I would like to just give you a list of some of my favorite scary movies – in case you feel like curling up under the blankets and enjoying a bowl of popcorn.

The first is a classic (well, all 3 are classics): Pumpkinhead. Just from the image below, you know it’s pretty freaky. Real brief synopsis:

“A bereaved farmer enlists the aid of a terrifying demon to help avenge his son’s death in this stylish horror movie that contains a strong moral. It all begins as gentle widowed farmer/general store owner Ed’s beloved 10-year-old son is involved in a fatal hit-and-run accident with a careless unknown motorcyclist. Ed nearly goes berserk with grief and to bring back his son heads to the cabin of a wise old witch to see if she can rejuvenate the youth. Unfortunately, it is beyond her considerable powers, so Ed, now equally desperate for revenge, invokes the legendary Pumpkinhead, a terrifying demon with the power to make the biker pay. One by one, Pumpkinhead dispatches the terrified cyclist and his friends, leaving Ed to reconsider his rashness. He tries to call the demon back, but by then it is far too late….”

vqicrr

And the toy: that’s a McFarlane creation. I’d say he captured the essence of the monster so well that I will never own it. No, that is one action figure that will never be added to my collection.

hqdefault

Another movie that I thoroughly enjoy is a Stephen King movie (of course): 1408. This was much better than I expected. I used to love reading his novels, but after a while, it seemed like he was stretching for plot lines and I had to walk away. But this one, this one I enjoyed.

Synopsis:

“A writer renowned for debunking infamous paranormal events is confronted by a force that he cannot explain upon checking into room 1408 of the notoriously haunted Dolphin Hotel. Mike Enslin is an author who specializes in horror, but who only believes in what he can see with his eyes and touch with his hands. Having constructed an entire career on his ability to dispel superstitious “haunted house” rumors, Mike is convinced that the afterlife is a manmade construct designed to offer false comfort to the weak minded. Mike’s latest project is a book entitled “Ten Nights in Haunted Hotel Rooms,” and it seems that in room 1408 of the Dolphin Hotel, this skeptical scribe may finally find proof of the supernatural. Implored by the hotel manager not to enter room 1408, Mike defiantly procures the key and prepares to dispel yet another spectral sham. Now, as is the case with many of life’s most profound epiphanies, the writer who thought he knew it all, is caught entirely off guard at the precise moment he least expected it. Subsequently faced with undeniable proof of an afterlife, Mike may have a best-seller on his hands – if he can survive until sunrise.”

capture1

And because I don’t want to bore you too much (I know that you have to get back to hiding under the covers so that the boogeyman doesn’t get you, is Jeepers Creepers. Personally, I prefer the first movie. But that’s just me.

Synopsis:

“Siblings Trish and Darry, are road tripping home from college across the U.S. and bickering all the way. Menaced by a truck on the highway, the travelers encounter the same vehicle later, and what they believe is a man dumping a human body into a drainage pipe. Investigating, Darry and Trish become the intended prey of an indestructible, supernatural creature hell-bent on eating them – a murderous local myth that is proving to be all too real. As they attempt to escape their bloodthirsty pursuer, the pair discovers that even the local police station is no refuge.”

tumblr_mmxlatbH881s488ujo1_500

Those are my recommendations. No, not perfect movies but I still think worth checking out. Conversely, I have a few that if you haven’t already seen, then for your own mental health, avoid them like the plague because they sucked. Horribly. Words can’t even describe how much they sucked.

Evil Dead was one of the worst in my opinion. I know many people will disagree with that, but when we went to see it, it was so bad that there was a group of us laughing at what was supposed to be scary. I wanted a refund but you can’t really demand one after you’ve sat through the entire horrible movie. (The picture below is quite deceiving. The movie had potential but it never realized it and both the plot and characters were stupid. Tell me, if you find an object in a basement full of dead hanging cats that is in a trash bag, and sealed with barb wire, and the cover is apparently made out of human skin, would you take out the effort to open it? If you answered yes to that question, than you get what you deserve. That’s all I’m saying.)

evil-dead-red-band-full-trailer

Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark. Most of it didn’t make much sense to me. How come the little girl was afraid of the creatures one moment and then trying to play with them the next? How stupid are you? And why didn’t you tell your parents? Huh? I hate storylines that rely on people’s stupidity in order to keep the plot moving forward.

dont-be-afraid-of-the-dark-1

And finally: Darkness Falls. Personally, when I turn on a flashlight, it bathes an entire area in light – not just a small tunnel version. So, this guy sees you as a kid and then you spend the rest of your life trying to hunt him down and kill him when you were only supposed to take his tooth and leave him a quarter or dollar or whatever? I think that’s called “obsession” and you should take some Prozac.

Der_Fluch_von_Darkness_Falls

So, that’s my rant for today. As always, I hope you enjoyed it. And if you haven’t seen any of the movies I recommended, do yourself a favor and check them out and hopefully you won’t hate me when you’re done watching them. And whatever you do, don’t check out the movies that I said sucked. Because then you’ll really hate me for implanting the idea in your head to even go watch them to find out why I thought they sucked so badly.

Oh yeah, and if scary movies aren’t your thing, that’s okay. There’s a lot of movies out there which I feel rely way too much on shock value to be of any good, so I have a solution for you: just watch cute kitten videos. Or cute dog videos. One of my favorites is Munchkin, the Shih Tzu Teddy Bear. Absolutely adorable.

(For the record, I tried to do this to my dog. He wasn’t having it. But that’s a story for another day! Complete with pics.)410996_1280x720

Tell me, which do you prefer? Cute cat videos or scary movies? I think you already know my answer.

pictures-of-cats-halloween_skull-cat

Happy Friday the 13th!

tumblr_n74g9876kV1r88w3eo1_500

Synopses courtesy of Fandango.

12 thoughts on “Friday the 13th: Scary Movies or Kitten Videos?

    • I can only deal with Jason so much! There are so many other alternatives out there! And I am glad for it. Just as I am glad that there are alternatives to like the 50 versions of Saw that are out there. Yes, these are older, but you can’t beat a classic. I hope you enjoy!

      What is your favorite scary movie?

      Like

  1. Arachnophobia freaked me out too! Never heard of The Birds – will have to look that up. Agreed about the whole fake blood things. I prefer movies that keep me on the edge of my seat, guessing, and then haunt me later. Like Shutter Island – that was a good movie. Definitely a cerebral scare.

    And I do like the ones that make fun of what horror movies have become. I saw one parody movie about these 2 rednecks that move up to the woods and there are these college kids who think they are out to get them and while they’re running away for their lives, they keep “accidentally” dying. It was really good but I can’t remember what it was called – just that it was on Netflix. If you enjoyed Tucker & Dale, you would like this. I’ll have to try to figure it out. 🙂

    Like

Won't you GeekOut with us?

