Bronies: An Unfair Bias of a Misunderstood Fandom

Like most people, I’ve heard of Bronies. And my understanding is that a Brony is a middle-aged adult male fan of the popular children’s series My Little Pony. A couple months ago, I watched a documentary called, A Brony Tale, My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic. When I did, I discovered that being a Brony is about so much more than fandom.

_A_Brony_Tale__Official_Poster

Bronies aren’t just adults that attend equestrian events and conventions. They don’t just collect memorabilia and trinkets. They don’t just dress up as their favorite characters. They aren’t creepy men watching a children’s show for perverse pleasure.

I learned that the stigmatism associated with Bronies is unjust and unfair.

Being a Brony is partly about giving back to your community, creating a unique identity, and inspiring others. It challenges gender roles, focuses on the positive in the world, and encourages selfless acts while promoting justice and equality. But mainly, it’s about friendship. Love. Acceptance. Tolerance.

Rainbow dash quote

If you’ve yet to watch this powerful documentary, it’s on Netflix, and has 5 stars (even Rotten Tomatoes gives it 5 stars). It’s worth watching and will change your perspective. If you’re anything like me, it’ll make you watch My Little Pony at least once – just to see what all the hype’s about.

full

Thanks to A Brony Tale, I now know that Bronies help make the world 20% more awesome. If I ever have the opportunity to attend a BronCon of any sort, I will be first in line. I can only imagine how unbelievable it would feel to be welcomed into such an accepting community.

For those of you fortunate enough to be in the Bay Area, there’s one such convention going on this weekend.

Frankly, I’m jealous.

april

5 thoughts on “Bronies: An Unfair Bias of a Misunderstood Fandom

Won't you GeekOut with us?

