Scream Queens: A Twisted Pleasure

When I first started seeing the commercials for Scream Queens on Fox, I wasn’t impressed. It looked like just another tweeny-bop series. Luckily, my husband insisted we give it a shot.

I can’t lie. I’m glad.

Thus far, the series has delivered some harrowing moments and has succeeded at making me both root for and against the main characters. (I can’t lie, I do want most of the Chanel’s to die.) I find myself trying to guess who the killers are – since there are obviously more than one.

(Quick premise: there’s a killer(s) running loose on a prestigious college campus murdering Sorority sisters and anyone that associates with them one by one while wearing a red devil costume. Sounds like fun, right?)

Now, I don’t want to give away too much of the storyline, but some of the twists have been predictable. Take for instance, Gigi’s involvement with the murders. The character is obviously off-balanced. She may as well be wearing jams.

But the main thing that keeps bothering me: how is Grace’s father involved? Because he obviously is. The question is just how? (And, what does Cathy, the dean, (Jamie Lee Curtis) know about the whole mess?)

Overall, the series is entertaining, just gory and bloody enough to make you gag but not turn away, and at least one person will dies an episode. This makes it a win in my book.

Unfortunately, because I don’t want to give away too much of the plot for anyone who has yet to start watching, I’m going to leave it there. Is this the best program I’ve ever watched? Well, no. But it sure is one entertaining ride and one worth watching.

Frankly, what did I expect? It is produced by the same people that made Glee and American Horror Story – now that’s a twisted combination.

What are your thoughts? Have you seen any of the episodes? If so, who do you think is actually wearing the red devil costume killing those Kappa girls?

ac79242a578a51145d1e7027d69e4af0b1c05a22

10 thoughts on “Scream Queens: A Twisted Pleasure

  1. OMG…I am so with you. When I first seen the commercials I was intrigued so I made sure to watch the very first episode hoping this would cure my need for American Horror Story since I cut the cord and thought I was not going to be able to see the new season. (Amazon saved the day as usual) I thought it was ridiculously funny but also intriguing. I figured I would give it a couple episodes and see how it goes but I am hooked! It is one of my guilty pleasure shows. I am not ashamed to admit it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to check this out now just to have some fun. I thought it might be horrific, but if it’s still fun to watch without being amazing, that’s ok too. 😄

    Like

  3. Pingback: Scream Queens Season 2 | The geekout-let

Won't you GeekOut with us?

