Samurai Jack is Coming Back!

After a 10-year-plus hiatus, it was announced late last year that Samurai Jack is coming back!

jack is back.png

Every week since seeing the announcement, I have religiously checked for updates. As most of you already know, Jack is my first anime love.

I’ve even knocked around the idea of doing a female cosplay of Jack or Aku – possibly from the episode when Aku pretended to be a female companion to Jack. As of yet, I’ve not been able to decide how exactly to make my costume, but I’m sure that one day, I will.

Char_13787

Here’s some wonderful fan art that I’ve stared at for quite a while of the fem versions of our two main characters:

female_samurai_jack_by_thextra89-d64qdlraku_female_version__finished_by_partygirl24-d52y27d

I’m hoping that with the series being reborn that I will find inspiration or be able to pick just who to cosplay.

Until that day when Cartoon Network finally airs new episodes, all I can do is wait, keep checking, and hope they don’t change their minds. As of today, this is not the case – even though nothing outside of a very sparse press release has come out.

For those of you unfamiliar with the storyline, it’s really quite simple: a bad-ass samurai (Jack) has been hurled back in time by the evil, shape-shifting demon (Aku). In order to defeat Aku and save the world from his reign of terror, Jack needs to find a magic portal and travel back in time to defeat him. This is the only way to, “Stop the future that is Aku.”

Cinematically, Samurai Jack is a work of art, has sparse dialogue, and a myriad of characters that add depth and dimension. And I’m truly hoping that at least some of them (including the Scotsman) make it back as well.

samurai jack scotsman

Thankfully, the original creator, Genndy Tartakovsky is on the job, so many of our wishes just may come true.

With any luck, this will be the first of many shows brought back to life.

I have a short (long) list of shows I would one day like to see again. But that’s a post for another day.

5 thoughts on “Samurai Jack is Coming Back!

  1. I heard about this and I can’t wait for its return. Even in these fan art, these female versions look great. I might have missed some episodes but I would like to know how the story ends.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not a fan of the show, but am glad that it is getting a second lease on life. From what I understand the original series ended on a cliffhanger so hopefully they can now wrap things up in a satisfactory manner.

    Like

    • What? How can you not like Jack? (lol)

      And the show did leave on a cliffhanger. Poor Jack never got to go home. And that’s all most of us wanted. I would have even accepted a movie to wrap it all up. But nope, we didn’t even get that. (Insert super-sad-never-ending-tear-stained-face here.) Fingers crossed.

      Liked by 1 person

Won't you GeekOut with us?

