Ghostbusters Remake Official Trailer

I just watched the trailer for the Ghostbusters remake. Personally, I really enjoyed it and am looking forward to watching the movie.

But scrolling through the Youtube comments, I must say, there was A LOT of hate.

I don’t get it. Why the hate? Because the remake features women instead of men? Really? Are we that shallow as a society that we can’t gender swap some roles?

Ancient society did it all the time. Are we less evolved than they?

It saddens me. Really.

Personally, I don’t care about a person’s gender / sexual preference or identity / religious affiliation / ethnicity or anything else like that. And as far as the movie is concerned: it’s just that.

It is a movie. Period.

It is not based in reality. This is not biographical. It is a fictional comedy. And I will watch it and laugh and hope that they don’t show all the best scenes in the trailers.

But if you don’t like the trailer or want to watch the movie, that’s fine, as long as it’s not because of the gender of the characters. Because to me, this is no different than being upset over there being a black Spiderman or a Muslim superhero (Ms. Marvel).

b4ac39e71c57ae59e76ce08895caa775_xl          Untitled-111

If you look at the history of comic books, you will realize that they have always tackled issues larger than their imagined worlds. (For a great documentary showcasing this, check out: With Great Power: The Stan Lee Story.)

91vS9LYcbJL__SL1500_

Besides, I rarely hear anyone complain when cosplayers do it.

675a1b8ba53951ab42567b37bacf2625

7 thoughts on “Ghostbusters Remake Official Trailer

    • That is true. I think most of us would agree that it seems they’ve run out of ideas and that’s why there are so many movies based on books (a lot of good books, really) and classic remakes.

      I already know this won’t be the best movie I’ve ever watched but I’ll be watching it strictly for entertainment value. Hey, no matter what, it has to be better than something like, “Snakes on a Plane,” right?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I guess it’s because people prefer the originals. The trailer looks pretty decent. I don’t understand why people like the African American Spider-Man but disapprove this movie. I remember seeing something like this in Star Wars : The Force Awakens.

    Like

    • Unfortunately, we are a fickle race, we human beings. I do remember the controversy over the first black Storm Trooper. I remember thinking how stupid that was. Pop culture should reflect actual culture. And the truth is that we are a world filled with diversity. And it’s that very diversity that makes this world such a beautiful place. Imagine how boring the world would be if we all believed in the same things, dressed the same, thought the same, etc., etc., etc. Where’s the fun in that?

      Liked by 1 person

Won't you GeekOut with us?

