Geeking out at Oak City Comic Con

On Saturday, April 16, 2016, we attended Oak City Comic Con at the Raleigh Convention Center. Originally, my husband had planned on a doing a Mario Brothers spinoff cosplay but became deeply imbedded in building armor for a cosplay for Animazement (coming up quickly in May!) and I had planned on debuting my female Jack Skellington but… well, I decided to wait for next month.

Instead, I went with a RWBY Ruby Rose variant. Within the course of 3 weeks, I did my first start-to-finish build and created Ruby’s gun – which I think is a super-sweet weapon that is underutilized not just in cosplay but in the series. (I will post pictures of the build in my next post.)

Anyway, we had a blast. Not only was the convention at a larger venue than last year (it was at a hotel) but it had more attendees, guest panels, and vendors. Frankly, I can’t wait to see what it grows into next year!

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Geeking out at Oak City Comic Con

Won't you GeekOut with us?

